In News & Reports


USCIRF Welcomes Reappointed and Newly Appointed Commissioners, Expresses Gratitude to Outgoing Commissioners.

Washington, DC – The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) today welcomed the reappointment of Nury Turkel, as well as the appointment of Frank R. Wolf and David G. Curry to the Commission. Nury Turkel was appointed to a second two-year term by Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA). Frank R. Wolf and David G. Curry were both appointed by House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) to serve two-year terms.

Vice Chair Turkel’s demonstrated commitment to advancing freedom of religion or belief has been an asset to the Commission, and we are thrilled by his reappointment,” said outgoing Chair Nadine Maenza. “We also welcome the appointments of Frank R. Wolf and David G. Curry, who each bring significant experience advancing international religious freedom policy.”

Frank R. Wolf was formerly a distinguished senior fellow of the 21st Century Wilberforce Initiative. He previously served in the U.S. House of Representatives for 34 years, representing the 10th district of the state of Virginia and was a former co-chair of the Tom Lantos Human Rights Commission. Frank Wolf’s advocacy in Congress was integral to the passage of the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998.

David G. Curry is currently the President and CEO of Open Doors USA. In this role as CEO, he has traveled extensively in the field to help those who have been marginalized because of their beliefs as well as helping those communities that have been targets of persecution. He formerly served as CEO and president of various Christians organizations that serve homeless and neglected children internationally.

We very much welcome the breadth of knowledge and insight that our new colleagues will bring to USCIRF,” said Vice Chair Nury Turkel. “We also extend sincere and heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Commissioners – Chair Nadine Maenza, Commissioner Anurima Bhargava, Commissioner James W. Carr, and Commissioner Tony Perkins – for their dedication and tireless advocacy on behalf of those persecuted for their religion or belief.

USCIRF Commissioners are appointed by the President and leadership of both political parties in the Senate and House of Representatives.


The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) is an independent, bipartisan federal government entity established by the U.S. Congress to monitor, analyze, and report on religious freedom abroad. USCIRF makes foreign policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State, and Congress intended to deter religious persecution and promote freedom of religion and belief. To interview a commissioner, please contact USCIRF at

Photo Credit:

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment